LoveaMarie

My Hair Actually Grows!!!

10622855_1547370625500144_6451315244196453015_n

March 2014 vs October 2014


Overview of my journey:

March 2013 I began transitioning to natural hair. I mainly got my hair pressed out during that time.

February 14, 2014 I cut off the rest of my perm and was completely natural… I figured that I could love myself on that Valentine’s Day by reminding myself that beauty does not lie in my hair nor in my physical appearance.

All the time in between I stuck to puffs because I’m so in love with my natural hair puffs!!! 🙂

August 1, 2014 Went to braids for protective styling and starting taking Biotin (10,000 mg) as well as MSM. I’m not a huge fan of braids so this was definitely taking one for the team! LoL. But I can’t front and say that I hated them because it was fun and I learned how to do my own box braids! #Werd ?!

October 10, 2014 Took out my braids and did the split picture about, where I ultimately discovered my growth over these past 7 months. Yay!


I don’t do anything extra with my hair. I just started using Coconut Oil in September, I don’t use magically ingredients. I just take Biotin pills and MSM Supplements now. I chose these two because these two supplements are active in the infamous, HAIRFINITY (which I cannot afford on the regular). So rather than sacrificing to pay for an expensive name brand I personally decided to take the main ingredients separately because it’s cheaper and more convenient for me.

I don’t have to order them. I just have to drive to ratchet Walmart and pick them up.

Oh the joys of being Low Maintenance.

Anywho… I’m excited about my hair growth. I’m not in a hurry for my hair to be extra long because I understand that with more hair comes more maintenance, and my puffs won’t be the same. They’ll start looking more like a festive ponytail… Which is not a problem at all but I want to enjoy this journey with each new natural hair day rather than wasting this time away by obsessing over long flowing locs.

e1f86d0662bb5786c43a13b3d249c26e

f6ef41a42d1739e1bd4711f20af3a04c

One comment on “My Hair Actually Grows!!!

  1. Pingback: Teaching Our Daughters How to Care for Natural Hair | Savvy Natural You

Share your thoughts...

Category Swagatory

