Embrace Your Size!

I remember being so self conscious about my size. I would wear bigger clothes to make me look bigger than I actually am. That was an epic fail because wearing bigger clothes when you are small actually makes you look smaller because your clothes are falling off of you.

I also wore bigger clothes because I was desiring to be something that I wasn’t. I wanted to be back in my bigger size jeans, so I would wear them and reminisce on the days that I could fit them without a belt.

5

Fail Fail Fail

Ugh! That is such a set up for the worst. Of course it is great to have goals and to realistically work to achieve those goals; but constantly putting yourself in a situation like where I was, will only discourage you. Especially when you have outside comments about your weight on a daily basis.

Fail Fail FAIL

The switch up::

Some time last year (2013) I made up my mind to fight against this foolery by finding out my actual clothing size… … OMG!!! Mentally, it seemed impossible  because I was terrified of what the result would be. I had to stop, breathe and remind myself that it ultimately doesn’t matter what size my jeans are; but rather the size &well-being of my heart.

“But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.” -1 Samuel 16:7

As a Christian I should always be living in the audience of ONE, which is Jesus Christ, so it shouldn’t matter what others think of me or even what I think of me. It is the Lord who matters. And frankly, they’re just clothes! There was no need for me to freak out and be dramatic over a pair of jeans!!! Foreal Tho.

Back to the story: I went to Target (by myself- because I didn’t anyone else to know until I was ready to share) and started picking out different sized jeans to try on… {can you feel the suspense?}.

Tried on a few sizes… blah blah blah (get to the point).

I DISCOVERED THAT I WEAR A SIZE ONE!!!!

yes, a 1… The number that comes right before 2.

Word?!?

Yes, that’s a very small size for a girl who is 5’9. But hey, that’s MY size.

The Fact of the Matter::

I am 5’9, I am underweight, and I wear a size ONE! This is ME! This is MY beauty and I will embrace it completely. I will LOVE all one hundred & _____ lbs of my being. (I’ll let your mind wander about my actual weight. LoL).

 

  • We can’t be other people.
  • Every weight comes with its own challenges
  • Wearing bigger clothes doesn’t make you bigger
  • Wearing smaller clothes doesn’t make you smaller
  • HEALTH is what matters
  • JESUS CHRIST DEFINES BEAUTY; not society
  • EMBRACE YOUR SIZE NO MATTER WHAT IT IS

 

1

3

 

2

4

 

P.S. Did you peep the change in my confidence through my poses? LoL. I’m a mess, I swear

 

 

g

 

 

Share your thoughts...

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

