My Natural Hair Journey Part1

I figure that it would only be fitting for me to give a glimpse of my natural hair journey before I continue on. So the rest of this week I’ll be highlighting the different transitions.

 

I’ve had a perm ever since I was old enough to get one. It seemed like no matter what I did my hair never grew. In 2011, age 22, when I was engaged to my now husband I decided that I should find a hair stylist and get my hair done consistently because we both would benefit from it.

The first day that I went to her he warned me saying: “Whatever you do, don’t let her cut your hair!”… 2 hours later I came out with my hair looking like this:

 

Image

 

 

My husband wasn’t too happy about it but I promised him that she would help my hair grow. He reluctantly settled for that answer.

I started getting perms once every 3 months (4 perms a year) and in between my perms I got press outs and good conditioning. A short year later my hair looked like this:

 

 Image

 

My hair had never met my shoulders!!! They were part of the same body and lived in the same neighborhood but had never met until then. LoL. My husband was exuberant!

 

 

At the end March 2013 I got my last perm and decided that I wouldn’t get anymore. This is when my transition to natural hair began…

6 thoughts on “My Natural Hair Journey Part1

Add yours

      1. Hey. Yes, I’m still on the natural journey. Some days have been a challenge mainly because as I was going to the salon to keep it healthy my hairdresser kept cutting my hair back to where I started. So I’m going to start trimming it myself for a while and see how that works. I’m still holding on though. 🙂

  1. I’ve been natural for 3 1/2 years. I love it. I went natural because I felt like it. It was something different and I was up for the challenge! A CHALLENGE it was BUt i don’t regret my decision. A month ago i decided to start my locs journey and welp, This is yet another challenge for me to take on! Healthy long Locs on the way!!

Share your thoughts...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

